Grilled Turkish Meatball (Akcaabat Kofte)

Turkish-meatball-akcaabat-kofte-grilled-2

Meatball is one of the traditional culinary culture of Turkish cuisine. Being Turkish, I cannot  deny how important grilling and meat in our culture.  This “Akcaabat” meatball is one of the famous type of meatball recipes.  These small meatballs are both healthy and delicious, because they are cooked with spices. They are cooked on the grill and served hot. I made these balls for my friends yesterday and they loved them. So, I thought that I should share the recipe. Also, I strongly recommend that you should sprinkle some oregano and chili pepper on meatballs. You can serve them with grilled tomato, green pepper, onion, eggplant, and mushroom. Although they are called as a meat”ball”, Turkish meatballs’ shape are not like a ball. LOL!! Here is the simple recipe that you can easily prepare in just minutes. 😉

Ingredients:

  • 1pound Lamb, minced, preferably with some fat
  • 1 Tsp salt
  • 1 Tsp black pepper
  • 1-1/2 minced garlic
  • 75gr crushed rusk

Turkish-meatball-akcaabat-kofte-grilled-3

In a large bowl, mix all the ingredients and then form into round, slightly flat 2-inch meatballs and place onto the grill.

Turkish-meatball-akcaabat-kofte-grilled-1

10 thoughts on “Grilled Turkish Meatball (Akcaabat Kofte)

  1. Yay! I am super excited that you are sharing your recipes Seha 🙂 Thanks for the background about the recipe and the recipe.
    I have some questions:
    (1) Can we substitute rusk with bread crumbs?
    (2) Could you provide more information about the grilling? How well done they must be?
    (3) Also how many meatballs one pound of lamb makes?
    Looking forward to seeing more of your recipes 🙂

  2. Thank you Iccha for your valuable comments! I am working on new recipes 😉
    First of all, yes you can substitute rusk with bread crumbs but don’t use crust. You can cook meatballs on a hot grill or a well heated griddle pan with some olive oil. Additional trick is if you rub your grill with some raw onion you can prevent the meat sticking to it. As you can see in the picture, they are very thin so they can be cooked easily but I can say that you can cook each side for 2-3min and then flip it. Lastly, I had 16 pieces from one pound lamb.

  3. Thank you for liking my blog. I thought kofte was made with beef; I’ve been cheated! 😉 I will try lamb meatballs. I love lamb more than beef.

Leave a Reply

